Newport County (A) Monday April 21st, 12.30pm

And he proceeded to control it and pass it across his box, straight to an opposition player and put him through on goal, instead of just booting it forward with his right foot - oh, see a flaw in my argument- he hasn’t got a right foot!!

Seems like a plan - and it will need to be 3 draws and then win the pelanty shootout!!:grinning_face:

Drawsall :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

1 Like

Oh my god what?

I’m sure it did, as it did when we didn’t go 1-0 up against Port Vale when the decision was actually given in real time rather than a minute later.

Two things that strike me watching that video is the sublime quality of Asiimwe’s cross, and the undoubted passion in the players’ response to the “winning goal”, subbed players running over to the fans as well as Simkin etc.

Just a shame McEntee didn’t get his head in line with the ball, whether its the keeper or the post that get’s in his eyeline he definitely ducks out slightly and at the same time sticks his hand in the line of the ball which he’s essentially watched all the way. Fair do’s he hight have lost a couple of teeth or cracked his hooter…but come on! There were probably worse actual injuries in the crowd celebrating.

3 Likes

Don’t you know? You’re not allowed to make a completely rational observation about the most pivotal moment of the match.

2 Likes

let’s be honest about liam gordon he has been travelling all over the world with his country rightly or wrongly and has been mismanaged by sadler who somehow thinks he’s superman and doesn’t need resting at points in the season

1 Like

I have just looked again at the replay. The ball was put into the net at 100:48 the score changed on screen to 0-1 at 100:51, just three seconds later. So you are right. But…

Then six seconds later at 100:57, the scoreline reverts to 0-0. When watching live, I did not look at the score until it had reverted to 0-0, and immediately began to assume that the goal had not been given by the referee. But as can be seen from the video above, neither the referee nor the linesman had any doubt about the goal at that time. The goal was disallowed at 101:34.

This tends to support the theory that someone in the TV production saw the handball, corrected the score on TV, and somehow got a message to the 4th official.

9/11 was an inside job.

1 Like

“Rational”

Or it could simply be the case that the 4th official, conversant with the scope of their role, saw, like (as it would seem) 90 odd percent of people on that side of the pitch including those at the back of the stand and Mat Sadler himself, that an obvious error had been made in allowing the goal and simply communicated that to the lino and or ref.

Couldn’t give a toss how the decision came about if I am honest. Right decision was made - move on.

10 Likes

This is what our season has come too, a hand of god moment to save it (that wasn’t & wouldnt)

Yes. No excuses, no drama, no hyperbole, just posters trying to understand the process behind the decision that was made.

1 Like

Discussing an event that happened in the match on the match thread. Wild, I know.

I’ll probably just pop on to future match threads and post “this was a football match that happened” and then log off again and leave you to martial what can and can’t be discussed beyond that.

Anyway. It was the correct decision.

3 Likes

If you look at the conversation between the referee and his assistant, the latter clearly indicated a handball. I am not sure if the off-field official had any input. The Saddlers+ commentator said handball immediately.

We don’t want to win like that.

4 Likes

True, that could well be the case, but it would not explain the TV changing the score back to 0-0, 35 seconds before the referee disallowed the goal.

It is certainly pretty unusual for a fourth official to overrule a goal that has been awarded by the referee and linesman. I cannot remember it happening before. But equally, how likely is it that the TV people send messages to the fourth official?

To be honest, I saw it was handball from the opposite side. Thought it was clear.

If it wasnt televised then I reckon it would have stood.

But thems the breaks and we’ve had our fair share. It’s entirely our own fault we aren’t in a better position.

2 Likes

According to Sadler, the fourth official was the one who called the foul on Amantchi at Doncaster and communicated with the referee to disallow the goal.

2 Likes