Goodison Park, 1972, who was there?

Just stumbled across this on Youtube - some very extended “highlights” and not a bad picture quality.

Any UTSers there at Goodison that day?

2 Likes

Yes,I went on the special train.I think there were about 80 coaches went too,happy days :wink:

Went to it from Manchester where I was a student.

Wow, the picture quality is excellent bearing in mind how long ago it was.

I was 12 and went with my Dad and my brother. I remember us being worried because Mark Wallington had to step in for Bob Wesson who was injured. We needn’t have worried - Wallington played a blinder and was transferred to Leicester soon after.

I remember being amazed at the size and height of the cantilever stand we sat in. Also, my Dad had paid for us to go to the game on a luxury coach and the trip incuded a 3 course meal at a pub near Haydock Park. The whole package cost £3 and we had to promise not to tell Mom about the meal!

2 Likes

I was there and as the highlights show we put up a good performance. My best memory of the trip was the time spent in a nearby pub where we we had a great time with some Everton fans.

Thought they were called “Sunshine” buses in those days Sid. Didn’t realise you were special :smile:

I was a season too young in 72 for away games :relieved:

1 Like

My dad took me and my brother in the car. It was the first time we came across the “Can I mind your car for you, mister?” protection racket. Fortunately my dad paid the 10p or whatever so the wheels were still there when we got back.

There were about 500 of us came out of Lime street station,we were all chanting and enjoying the day, then all of a sudden 100’s of Everton fans ambushed us,all hell broke loose…:grinning:

3 Likes

Went with my Dad on a coach. We were opposite the seemingly huge three tiered stand.