Saddlers Club Decomposing

Ah yes I took that picture the Sunday after the heavy snow and wind resulted in the cowshed roof to buckle in early January 1991. Demolition took place a week or two later.

some of the best years of my life spent there :disappointed_relieved:

Same here @chunkster 24 seasons I went up to FP.

1 Like

If any younger fans think that Fellows Park looked like a bit of a dump, then you’d be right. Although at that time even many First Division grounds weren’t much better, just bigger and with more fencing to obstruct the view (the fencing was an 80’s thing, all the rage it was).
I started in the Street End, but later ended up somewhere under the first G in Highgate.

1 Like

i started in the laundry end while i was with my dad, then the street end when i graduated to going with mates, then the side to get closer to the away supporters,i think it was called the popular end? then bannished back to the street end for being classed as a troublemaker, the copper on the gate was a ■■■■■■■. And even used to let my friends through until it came to me :rage:

I never left the Street End. Used to stand half way back, behind the right goal post. Until we scored, then I’d end up about fifteen yards away from the original spot.

1 Like

Halfway line in the cowshed for me. I had a ritual - first pie before kick off then another after 25 mins if we hadn’t scored and a third just before they ran out at half time.No wonder I ended up so “big-boned” as a kid :grinning:

1 Like

In the enclosure on the wall, by the side of the away dugouts - so my Dad could exchange pleasantries with the visiting manager and subs.

1 Like

We must have crossed paths in the past Chunkster. From reading your posts, I reckon we are about the same age (I am 57) and started going around the same time (1970/71). Exactly the same for me, started in the laundry end then the Street end and exactly the same fun and games with the copper on the gate.
A lot in common, bar politics :rofl: